Oh my cod! Fish and chips!

I was cleaning my cupboards when I came across my deep fryer. There are so many wonderful things that come deep fried; snickers bars, elephant ears, corn dogs, donuts, and on the tippy top of that list for me, is fish and chips.
I’ve spent a lot of time eating fish and chips, and found that few restaurants really get it right. It comes out in a stunning display of golden brown glory, but enters my mouth a bland, and wilted piece of sad sack fish. My first order of business was to tackle that little conundrum. (Because really, it’s all about the fish) I marinated my cod for an hour in  lemon juice, garlic powder, and salt. I was a bit concerned that it would be a slight over kill, but as it turns out, a lot of that flavor was absorbed into my batter as it fried. For the batter I chose a Pyramid wheat lager that I had hiding for a rainy day, cayenne pepper for a bit of spice, some garlic salt, and a touch of pepper.  My result from that was a mild flavor that complimented my cod perfectly.

One of the draw backs to using a deep fryer is size. I did my fries in two batches and had to cook the fish one at a time. Talk about painful. Fries taking about 8 minutes per batch, and fish depending on thickness take about 6 to 10 minutes to cook, it made for fries that needed a quick reheat before serving. Next time I will use a large pot. One of the blessings of the fryer though, is that you can control the temperature much easier than you can on a stove. Pick your battle, deal with heat issues or invest in a large fryer. Just remember to take the basket out when you want to make anything battered or doughy. (Doh!)
I finished off my fish and chips with some curried ketchup and home made tartar. P.s. if you haven’t tried adding a touch of curry to your Heinz, you are missing out.

Fish and chips for two

For the fish
4 fillets of cod
Juice of two lemons
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp garlic powder

Batter
1 cup flour + extra for dusting
8 oz lager
Tsp cayenne
1 tsp garlic salt

Fries/chips
3 russet potatoes
Salt and pepper

1.5 quarts vegetable oil

Tartar sauce
1 eggs yoke
1/2 cup Olive oil
Salt
Lemon juice
4 finely chopped cornichons
1tsp chopped capers
1/2 a lobe of a shallot finely chopped(I call it a lobe cause they look like lungs to me)
1tsp chives
1tsp fresh Italian parsley
1tsp fresh dill

Curried ketchup (you’ll never be the same)
1/2 cup ketchup
1 generous sprinkling of curry
… I put a splash garlic salt in mine but I have a garlic problem

*I’m starting with the tartar because there is a wait period, where the flavors need to absorb into your mayo/aioli/tartar, even if you forgo making it yourself.*
Making your own mayo is worth it.  Whisk your egg yoke until fluffed and Smooth, always turning in the same direction. Slowly add your Olive oil a little at a time, whisking it until it reaches mayo consistency then adding more. (Get the cheaper non extra virgin olive oil. Otherwise your mayo/tarter will taste like thick olive oil with pickles in it… unless you really like the flavor of extra virgin olive oil. ) If it separates because you stopped to go pee mid process, start over. It will never get back to where you want it. Once you finish making the mayo, add in your salt, lemon herbs, capers, and pickles. Stick that in the fridge for a couple hours and let all of your ingredients meet each other, then serve it up.

For fries: Peel your potatoes, and cut them to the desired thickness. Add them to boiling water for 5 minutes to soften them, then pat dry. Heat up vegetable oil to 375. Cook fries for 8-10 minutes. Set aside to cool, and season with salt and pepper
image

For fish/batter:
Mix lemon juice, salt, and garlic in a deep plate or shallow bowl. Add and coat fish, flipping at the half hour mark.
While your fish is marinating, mix  flour and beer, add your spices and whisk until the batter is smooth.
Remove fish from the marinade and dust them with flour. Then dip and coat each piece in the batter. Fry at 325 for 6 to 10 minutes depending on size.

Put everything together with your sauces, and a little malt vinegar and enjoy!

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Fish

Leave a Reply

