MRE Chili mac… I’m a bad person and I should feel bad.

When I was young my mom taught me a nifty trick. If you hate a certain food, go on a long, arduous, soul sucking day hike, with minimal provisions. You will know you are tired and hungry enough when you can’t hold you’re hands steady, and you are on the edge of not being hungry, but hangry. At that exact point, you are ready to eat your most hated of all foods. For me that was chili. I reached into my pack and I pulled out my brown bag of sadness, chili mac. However that day it turned into a brown bag of deliciousness. I dove into it. Trading for the worlds most plastic jalepeño cheese and an extra bottle of tiny tiny tobasco. It was one of the more shameless moments I’ve had. I loved that chili mac. I continue to love it. Occasionally craving it, pining for it and lusting after its preservative infused flavors. So much so that I had a date with my crock pot this morning. Judge me all you want. It was worth it. (she says in her best fat kid voice)

image

1 pound of ground beef 90/10%
1 can of tomato paste
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans
1 can white beans
2 white onions chopped
6 cloves minced garlic
1 green bell pepper
1tsp chili pepper flakes
2Tbs chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tbs oregano
Juice of one lemon
1 cup of noodles, shape of your choice.
1 cup cheddar cheese

Alright, so maybe it’s not quite the same, but who actually wants that exact flavor. It’s close, only fresher with a touch of zest. I use my crock pot and put it on high, but when I didn’t have one, I just left it on the stove on low all day. Brown your beef and drain the fat. Drop that in your crock pot, and throw in your tomato paste, tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes, peppers, onions, beans, herbs and spices. Let that sit for 4 to 6 hours. Add your noodles in, and let it sit for one more hour. Mix in your cheddar and cream cheese giving the cheese enough time to melt. Serve it with your favorite chili fixins’ and chow down.
image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “MRE Chili mac… I’m a bad person and I should feel bad.

  1. Kris Cimino

    AN MRE!?!? God, woman are you daft!? What about the Genteel Lenteel, or The Poppa Bean, or the ever loving Splat Pea?!?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

