Roast leg of lamb in rosemary herb marinade

Today I am stuck at home as my window gets fixed from what we’re calling a stray “road rock” that decided to fling itself at our window. Since the window is about 20 ft up, and is obscenely large, I’m going to be stuck here for a while.  No better time than the present to create a magical marinade for my itty bitty baby leg of lamb.

20140223_082725 (1)

Something fishy is happening with this lamb. I know I am certainly not this first kid on this great earth to put anchovies on their lamb. Its not a secret. Its delicious. Don’t worry, its not going to give you that soul extracting, extremely dead fish taste you get from anchovies on your pizza. Its just going to tell the lamb to be a little more flavorful. My sneaky secret is to dry my little salty friends out in the oven first. The worrisome thing that happens with anchovies that have been baked, is they almost turn into a crispy fish dust. Its actually ok to get a little excited about that. I think the bad part of the anchovies magically disappears upon enter the oven (their disgusting souls are in the oil!!!).

I pride myself on my herb marinades. I start them in the morning, walk away for several hours, and come back to herb infused goodness. It works with beef, lamb poultry, I’ve even done it to ribs. The other good part is that you can save a portion for a lovely dipping sauce later. First prep your lamb. Remove that top layer of fat, and make several half inch slits over the top of the roast. Once your marinade is made, make sure to rub as much of it into the slits as you can.

IMG_20140319_131720

Marinade

1 cup olive oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup rosemary sprigs

2 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

5 cloves of garlic

1/2 of a shallot bulb

a tin of anchovies (I dry mine first in the oven, just bake them for 40 minutes at 250)

1 tbs vinegar

1 tbsp salt

Toss all of these ingredients lovingly into a food processor and blend them together. Save 1/2 a cup for dipping, and pour the rest over your lamb, coating it liberally in the marinade. Stick all of this in the fridge and walk away for a few hours. Take it out an hour before roasting it, so that it reaches room temperature, sprinkle the top with a layer of salt, and pop it in the oven at 375 for approximately 30 minutes/lb, or until the internal temperature at the thickest point reaches 145 (med-rare). You won’t be disappointed. I swear that marinade was handed down from some mythical god, and all you have to do is stick your two favorite herbs in it and you’re golden. Omit the anchovies for all other meats though.

IMG_20140319_185055IMG_20140319_185351

7 Comments

Filed under Lamb

7 responses to “Roast leg of lamb in rosemary herb marinade

  1. Fabulous. I use the same recipe except for a 1/4 tea spoon of mustard powder for a touch of heat.

    Like

  2. I just finished dinner, but that main photo made me hungry all over again. It looks delicious!

    Like

  3. omg….super dish………..!
    want to try this………!
    #wordpress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

