Fijian Coconut Bread, Cooking from a memory

Years ago when I was over seas, I met some Fijians. They managed to dazzle my insides with coconut bread. It wasn’t a loaf, and it wasn’t a roll. It resembled a slightly mangled pastry, I’m guessing mainly because it was cooked in tinfoil. We didn’t have a baking pan. So I’ve been scowering the internet for this recipe for longer than I care to admit. Given up, restarted my search and failed, several times. And finally I just decided to figure it out for myself.  After one failed attempt, I found the flavor I was looking for. It wasn’t so much that the bread wasn’t made correctly, its that when they made it for me, they ever so slightly under cooked it. As a general rule cook things to just a tiny bit below perfectly finished to harness in a bit of the moistness. That day I took it out maybe 3 minutes too early and that was where the ticket was hiding. Its kind of what happens when some of the baddest warriors on the planet, make you bread. Impatience, and deliciousness.

\IMG_0396

This morning I headed to Trader Joe’s for my weekend shopping, and once again stared at the coconut oil as if it was some kind of mystery oil. This time though I actually bought it. I took it home and stared at it, wondering what the hell to do with it. After a few moments I decided to make the most moist coconut bread ever.

IMG_20140322_154048

1/3 cup melted coconut oil

1 can coconut cream

2 beaten eggs

1 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup coconut flakes

2 cups flour

Combine all  sugar, oil, vanilla, coconut cream and beaten eggs in a bowl. Mix in salt baking powder and coconut flakes. Slowly add in flour until it reaches cake batter consistency. Bake for 1 hour at 350, or until your toothpick comes out clean. Let it cool for 30 minutes, and gingerly devour the whole thing.

20140322_163811 (1)

2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Desserts

2 responses to “Fijian Coconut Bread, Cooking from a memory

  1. shamelessfoodieluv

    This sounds amazing!!

    Like

    • It took 10 years to figure out, and I’m sure it’s not perfect to a tee to what I had, but it certainly tastes almost the same. I hope you try it and love it. Improvising was king where I was. I’m sure I’ll never know (almost assuredly happily) exactly what was in it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

