Oyster Shooter Aioli, For Pan Fried Oysters

Aioli is a tricky little wicket. After what feels like hours of beating it to death with a whisk, sometimes you just end up with something gloppy. I’ve stopped using my amazing collection of whisks for aioli. The tennis elbow just doesn’t feel worth it. Instead I use my hand blender, with a whisk attachment. Apparently you can use a food processor too, but I’ve found this to be less than effective. I’ve made my fair share of runny aioli.

I have a few sneaky tricks to help you out though.

1. Chill your eggs and oil. Colder ingredients will help thicken your sauce.

2. Know when to stop adding your oil. I start my aioli by whisking my eggs until they are thick, and then I very slowly drizzle in my oil, stopping every few seconds to get it to where I want it, and then I resume my slow drizzle. If you only put in 3/4 of the oil or even half of your oil its not the end of the world. Making it too runny, beyond repair and running out of eggs and ingredients is!!!!!

3. Don’t use straight olive oil. Its much harder to make stay thick, and the flavor is a little better.

4. Pay attention. If the aioli is getting too thin, quickly whisk up an extra egg, add it to your aioli (stop adding oil) and continue to whisk it until it gets thick again.

5. Don’t add your lemon, herbs, anything acidic, or what ever flavors you put into it until its thick enough.

Lastly, a little voodoo. Apparently constantly stirring it in the same direction is supposed to help…maybe.

Today I picked up some oysters for dinner, and I thought about what sauce to make for them. Sure, cocktail or tarter would be delicious, but where’s the fun in that. I decided to concoct my own flavor of aioli, that combines the bold daring taste of oyster shooters, with the velvety smooth taste of aioli. I pulled out all of my favorite oyster accompaniments, lemon juice, Tabasco, horseradish, and a smidge of Worcestershire sauce.

Basic aioli sauce

4 egg yokes

about 1/2c vegetable oil, 1/4 cup olive oil (mixed and chilled)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp FINELY chopped garlic

The delicious extras

1/2 tsp horse radish

1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

A few drops of Tabasco

Whisk your eggs until they thicken. Add the salt, while whisking, drizzle a small amount of oil into the eggs, and continue to whisk until it thickens back up. Repeat this until you get your desired amount/thickness, and begin adding in your lemon juice. If you’re making the oyster shooter aioli, add the horseradish, Tabasco, and Worcestershire. If the other ingredients make it too thin, add in your sneaky extra egg yoke, and whisk it until it thickens back up.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oyster Shooter Aioli, For Pan Fried Oysters

  1. Pingback: Simple Pan Fried Oysters, with Special Oyster Shooter Aioli | Feasts of Strength

Leave a Reply

