Simple Pan Fried Oysters, with Special Oyster Shooter Aioli

I have a nostalgic love of oysters. I love them fried, in shooters, raw in the half shell with my own favorites additives, and even BBQ’d. My mother is deeply responsible for this. She is the Tom Sawyer of oysters, telling me how good they were, that they were her favorite treat, suggesting I should get my own at Ivars. I also remember my first bite. It actually didn’t taste terrible. I pulled back to look at the other half, and there in its little oyster belly, was a bunch of disgusting green crap. Some say its its stomach contents, some say its the swollen gonads of an oyster ready to spawn. At the time, I really only found it utterly disgusting, and gag worthy. Mom’s response? “Well you aren’t supposed to look at it.” I didn’t eat oysters for a few years, but when I finally ventured back in that direction I absolutely loved them. (Thanks mom!)

Today managed to get a little creative and make my own special aioli. Aioli is gods gift to french fries and fish. I don’t think I’ve ever had an aioli on a fish yet and thought to myself, that it was a mistake. Today’s aioli hit the jack pot. It took the goodness of fried oysters, combined with the sauces from an oyster shooter, to make a lovely little dip for my cornmeal dredged little buddies. Here is the recipe for my aioli Oyster shooter aioli

Pan Fried oysters

2 Jars of extra small oysters

1 cup cornmeal

1/2 cup flour

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp oil or butter

Mix the flour and the cornmeal. Fully dredge each little oyster in the flour and cornmeal mixture. Place them in an oiled frying pan on high, for about 2 minutes each side. Sprinkling the cooked sides with a touch of salt, remove them from the pan and serve them up with my lovely oyster shooter aioli.

IMG_20140329_180910

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Simple Pan Fried Oysters, with Special Oyster Shooter Aioli

Leave a Reply

