Chicken Pesto and peas…dirty knees, look at these.

I opened my freezer today, and for the first time in about 6 months, I spotted my pesto I made this winter for a lazy day. That lazy day came today. The second thing I spotted was my chicken, and then my peas. Perfect combo for making a lazy Tuesday dish.  On an educational note, Did you know that peas can be used to tend to a constipated gold fish? You’ll know its possibly constipated when it floats to the surface (still living) and cant swim to the bottom of the tank. Hence the reason for my pack of frozen peas….. I’m slightly ashamed of my peas. 

Image

Basic pesto

2 cups of basil

2 cups of spinach

4 cloves of garlic

1/4 cup gently toasted pine nuts

1/2 cup parmesan 

1/2 cup olive oil

Juice of one lemon

salt and pepper to taste

Throw all of that into a blender and puree it into a lovely green slurry. I use about 1/2 a cup for whatever meal I’m making, and then I store the rest for times when don’t feel like cooking much.

For the chicken

about 4 chicken breasts chopped up into chucks

a smattering of olive oil

lemon pepper and salt to taste

Saute your chicken until its cooked though, cook your peas, and your pasta to the package standards, and throw it all into a big bowl, along with your pesto. Mix that together, and inform your family that they should shut up at and eat it. Then commence liberally sipping your wine. It is Tuesday after all. Not a Friday to be seen for at least two more full days. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

