Gala Pork Pies, I was feeling so hipster, I Put an Egg In It

Something I have seen, and screwed around a lot with lately is sticking eggs in random things. From ordering burgers topped with eggs, to sticking it in my marinara. They’re lovely. They take on sauces, mix well with oils and grease, compliment and coat. They also look pretty bitchin’ in savory pies.

DSC_0017

A couple weeks ago, I stuck an egg in my pork pie. I had my friend Nikki over for a delightful day of baking. I fully admit that I initially had a hard time with this pie crust. If you read my blog often, you know I’m a fan of the butter crust. I use it for everything. However, for traditional pork pies, it calls for a hot water lard pie crust. Its different kids, but it still needs to be cooled down. If you don’t cool it down, its like rolling out really thick paste. I had to make it second time after the fact to make sure I hadn’t taken a bus down knuckle head lane.

There are a few ways to skin this cat. The first time I made them with Nikki, I put them in ramekins. It would have happily made about 6 of them, if I had 6 ramekins, and wanted to double the crust recipe. The second time I made it was in a rectangular dish. It fits the meat far easier.

For the filling

1 lb ground pork

1 lb pork tenderloin minced

2 slices of bacon chopped

1 white onion chopped

4 cloves of garlic chopped

1 apple minced

1 tbs sage

1 tsp salt+

pepper

1 raw egg

4 soft boiled eggs (6 if you’re using ramkins)

Combine your meats. Add in the apple, garlic, onion, sage, salt, pepper, and mix them. Soft boil your eggs (put them in water on the stove on high, and when they start to boil set the timer for 5 minutes. When the timer goes off, plunge them into ice water for 30 minutes, and peal). Cook a tsp of the meat mixture to make sure that you like what you have, season accordingly, and set these two aside while you make your crust

For the crust ( for an 8in rectangular baking dish. Double if using ramkins)

2 1/4 cups of flour

1/2 cup lard

1/2 cup butter

1 tsp salt

2 tbs boiling water

Mix together your flour and salt. Bring your water to a boil, as well as the butter and lard. Add the boiled water, and butter and lard to the flour, and mix it with a wooden spoon until it form into a crumbly dough. Form the dough together into a flat ball, and refrigerate it for an hour. Once your hour is up, kneed your dough into 2 equal sized balls. Roll out the first dough, flip it into your dish, and put approximately 1inch of the meat mixture into the bottom of the dish, and space out the eggs so they fit evenly, and fill the dish the rest of the way, but not over filling it. Roll out he final ball of dough and cover the top, joining the edges. Bake at 375 for 1 hour. Remove from the oven, cool to room temperature, and enjoy (about 3 hours).

DSC_0013

9 Comments

Filed under Holiday foods, pork

9 responses to “Gala Pork Pies, I was feeling so hipster, I Put an Egg In It

  1. Darie's Daily Dish

    Looks yummy and so different,,,I might try this over the weekend,,

    Like

  2. Oh man, that looks so good.

    Like

  3. Well done, it looks really good. I’ll have to give it a go

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. Also, this looks yummy. I’m loling at your title because that one egg in the middle really does look a little random and out of place, but hey, looks like it works! 🙂

    Like

  5. Looks ace! I’m going to give it a try 🙂 it’s like a scotch egg meets pork pie. … yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

